Sex Offenders

Badge in color copy
Apache County Sheriff’s Office – Sheriff Joseph Dedman Jr.
“Honored to Serve, Proud to Protect”
patch2 copy

The Apache County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for registering sex offenders throughout Apache County.


Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute any person who has been convicted of certain sex offenses is required to register, within 72 hours, with the Sheriff of the county they reside in after their release or after moving to a new location. Please refer to A.R.S. 13-3821 for specific offenses.

Pursuant to A.R.S. 13-3826, a committee was established to formulate and adopt community notification guidelines. The committee is compromised of: The State Attorney General, State Legislature, and Representative from County Sheriff’s Departments, Chiefs of Police, County Attorney’s, Adult Probation Officers, Adult Parole Administrators, The Department of Public Safety Director, The Department of Transportation Director, and a Licensed Psychologist Examiner. The community notification guidelines implemented shall provide for levels of notification based on the risk that a particular sex offender poses to the community.

Beginning June 1, 1996 anyone convicted of a sex offense or attempted sex offense is subject to community notification. A risk assessment is done of the offender and he/she is placed in one of three levels. The risk assessment is a screening tool designed to provide criminal justice practitioners with the ability to predict a sex offender’s risk of recidivism.

Level I = Low Risk

Level II = Intermediate Risk

Level III = High Risk

Level II and III offenders are put on the internet by the Arizona Department of Public Safety as per Arizona Revised Statute 13-3827.

If you want to check for a registered sex offender in Apache County, go to the Arizona Department of Public Safety web page listed under AZ Sex Offenders on the left of this page,

Any other questions you have contact us at 1-800-352-1850.