Home Calendar News County History Emergency Info  
 

Round Valley Justice Court

Links
Driving Without Insurance
Superior Court
Clerk of the Court
Probation Services
 
Justices of the Peace
Chinle Justice Court
Puerco Justice Court
St. Johns Justice Court
 
State Links
AZ Revised Statutes Title 22
AZ Supreme Court
AZ Public Access to
Court Information
AZ Self Service Center
Legal Forms
 
Court Information
Return to Main Page
Bond Schedule
Civil Filing Fees
Orders of Protection
Payment Methods
Small Claims
Traffic Citations
Weddings

IMPORTANT INFORMATION SHEET
NO INSURANCE

Effective September 30, 2009, Arizona Revised Statute (A. R. S.) 28-4135 requires the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) to administratively suspend the driver’s license and registration of any person convicted of a violation of  (A. R. S.) 28-4135(A), (B) and (C) upon receipt of the abstract of the record judgment. The monetary penalties associated with the violations of the above referenced statute remain the same and are:

  • $500 + surcharges and court fees, for a first offense
  • $750 + surcharges and court fees, for a second offense
  • $1000 + surcharges and court fees, for a third offense


Effective September 30, 2009, the statute also allows the court to reduce or waive the penalty imposed for a violation of A.R.S. 28-4135 if the person provided proof of both the following items:

  • The defendant (driver) not been found responsible of a violation of A.R.S. 28-4135 within the past 24 months OR has not had more than one violation of A.R.S. 28-4135 within the past 36 months as evidence by the person’s driving record.
  • The defendant has purchased a six month policy of insurance that meets the requirements of A.R.S. 28-4009.

The statute allows the court to:

  • Waive the monetary penalty
  • Waive only the driver’s license suspension
  • Waive only the registration suspension
  • Waive both the driver’s license suspension and registration suspension
  • Impose a lower monetary penalty, or
  • Any combination of the items listed here

Upon receipt of the record of judgment, MVD is responsible for entering a suspension of the defendant’s driver license and/or registration/plates in their system. In order to ensure that the defendant is in compliance with suspension and to receive timely notification from MVD, the defendant must ensure that the MVD has their most current address.

The suspension of the defendant’s driver license/registration/plates is not effective until MVD mails the Corrective Action Notice to the address of record. Service of notice is considered complete upon the mailing of the Corrective Action Notice. The Corrective Notice will provide information of the effective date for the suspension and reinstatement requirements (e.g., fees, proof of insurance, etc).

Defendants may be eligible for a MVD issued restricted license if they obtain a SR22, proof of insurance and they comply with the additional criteria established by the MVD.

To determine eligibility and for any other questions regarding
suspension, defendants should contact MVD at:

http://www.azdot.gov/MVD/index.asp
Phoenix (602) 255-0072
Tucson (520) 629-9808
Elsewhere in Arizona 1-800-251-5866
TDD service
In Phoenix call (602)712-3222.
Elsewhere in Arizona call
1-800-324-5425 311
 
     
Copyright © 2007 Apache County. All rights reserved.